Why I love the Large Hadron Collider

3 Apr

The Large Hadron Collider was in the news again yesterday. It has been shut down for an upgrade that will make it smash together tiny bits of the universe even faster, harder and more smashingly. I’m neither a scientist, an engineer, an evil supervillain or a bit of subatomic dark matter but I’m entranced by the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and this is why…

  1. It makes me wonder why my toaster doesn’t work properly. I’ve got 4 pieces of toast for lunch. 4 pieces with marmalade on. No butter. 2 slices are underdone while 2 slices are overdone. If they can get a super-duper piece of kit working properly, there’s hope for my toaster yet.
  2. It subverts the stereotype of the scientist. LHC scientists always seem happy, carefree and open to all that the universe throws their way. They show emotion when they make discoveries. They hug each other. They are not bespectacled sociopaths with a god complex like ‘the media’ want to portray.
  3. It makes me slightly scared. It’s good to be scared and I enjoy being scared. I’m mostly worried that the happy-go-lucky scientists and the discovery of predicted higgs-bosuns is a front for the fact that the real scientists are opening a door to hell itself. I say I’m worried, but I actually hope that my fears are right!
  4. I love sci-fi. The LHC is sci-fi brought to life. It’s messing with things we shouldn’t be messing with, creating the apocalypse that provides the backdrop for a future post-apocalyptic story of humanity at the edge.
  5. I’m having a mid-life crisis. My mid-life crisis is giving me an appetite for chaos that I never had before. Now I want disruption, traffic jams, action. The Large Hadron Collider will either demystify some of the universal chaos or it will create more of it.

Find out more about the CMS experiment..

The Large Hadron Collider – what’s not to love!

Leave a Reply

