Earth’s Lament – day 22 of napowrimo

23 Apr

You smother me in concrete      (so that I cannot breathe)
You build towers in the sky        (so that we rarely meet)
You ogle other planets              (while I wait here at your feet)
You make me want to die           (but I won’t admit defeat)

Highest of my creations             (we grow apart more every day)
Look down upon my face           (must we always be this way)
I still have all my love for you     (but you just want to stray)
Of your love there’s no trace     (be kind to me, I pray)

If it has got to be like this           (there’s something you should know)
Then I will make you pay           (you reap what you will sow)
I’ll crush you, decompose you   (painfully and slow)
And in pieces you will lay           (from those pieces I will grow)

 

2 Responses to “Earth’s Lament – day 22 of napowrimo”

  1. El Santo April 23, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    I enjoyed this! Great use of the parallel poem. I don’t think I’ve seen one structured quite like this!

    • supazuba April 23, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      Thank you! Cheers for taking the time to read it.

Leave a Reply

