Tiger, Tiger – a poem refracted

1 May

I’m glad napowrimo is over – I was becoming less and less inspired by the prompts. However, there is still unfinished business and my feeble attempt at day 30’s task is below. It’s based – as if you needed telling – on Blake’s ‘Tyger, Tyger’ and isn’t so much an opposites poem as a poem refracted.

Tiger, Tiger, fading pale
On the urban morning trail
What soon-dying foot or face
Sticks out weird and out of place

On which shallow puddles goes
The clouded dimness of your nose
In whose arms fear hopelessness
Where the wing fear grasp the ice

And which elbow, and which science,
Couldn’t untie the saggy part
And when your heart ceased to bump
What a lovely knee? And what a lovely rump?

Where the nail? Where the cog?
In what fridge did I put the dog?
What the hammer? What nice grip?
Fear it’s lovely pleasures slip?

When the planets picked up their phials
And warm’d earth with their smiles
He did frown his leisure to hear?
He did who made the deaf mute ear?

Tiger, Tiger, fading pale
On the urban morning trail
What soon-dying foot or face
Sticks out weird and out of place

4 Responses to “Tiger, Tiger – a poem refracted”

  1. whowanderarelost May 1, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    hilarious, I love tiger tiger! I even considered doing it for this exercise, before realising I couldn’t figure out an opposite for tiger … I’m currently working on my own Day 30, which will be on the owl and the pussy-cat. Stay tuned!

  2. whowanderarelost May 1, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    also, if you have any helpful suggestions for the opposite of bong-tree, they would be much appreciated

    • supazuba May 1, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      I know I’m too late but for some reason chamomile tea sprang to mind.

      • whowanderarelost May 2, 2013 at 5:53 am #

        the characters in my poem could probably have benefitted from some of that!

Leave a Reply

