My daughter is the evillest thing

14 May

My daughter is the evillest thing
In the whole wide world
She seems as lovely as a flower
But the devil’s in that girl

Others she charms and spins around
Her eleven-year old finger
But to me she is a nemesis
A pain and trouble-bringer

I drive my daughter to a gym
She trains with a gymnastic bunch
And how does she repay me?
With punch after punch after punch

And I can’t get her back because
I’m busy driving the car
Which shows you just how devious
Her devious evils are

When she has big bags of sweets
She never gives me one
But whenever I buy myself a treat
A turn my back – it’s gone!

And if she ever saw this poem
Far from being forgiving
She’d wait ’til no-one was around
And my life would be not worth living

There is one thing that gives me hope
A beacon in all this strife
I may have the evillest daughter
But at least she’s not my wife!

 

Although this is written with affectionate tongue in my cheek (that just doesn’t sound right), there is more than a grain of truth and suffering there.

5 Responses to “My daughter is the evillest thing”

  1. Quirky April 25, 2015 at 4:05 am #

    I absolutely love this one! In a social media age of perfect motherhood, THiS is how I feel, so much more often than those magazine cover moms. Great work 😉

    • BRH April 25, 2015 at 12:51 pm #

      Thank you!

    • BRH April 25, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

      Being a parent has never felt like the cover of a magazine – except maybe ‘Therapy Monthly’!

  2. maggie877 January 7, 2016 at 4:42 pm #

    Love it, but she is a darling! 🙂

    • BRH January 7, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

      Of course – this is all very much fiction and not at all close to the truth!

Leave a Reply

