Grandad was a drag queen

5 Jan

Today we buried grandad
95 years old
His life was unspectacular
So his eulogy told
But grandad had another side
One that he kept well hid
He only trusted me with it
‘When I die son, lift the lid’

Grandad was a proof reader
With an eye for detail keen
But less well known about him was
That grandad was a drag queen
He told me this when grandma died
And he became depressed
She’d never thought him any less
No matter how he dressed.

And grandad showed me photos
Of him and his young wife
Of them both and their 9 children
Of the good times in their life
There were other photos too
A great aunt I’d known as Mary
I’d always felt her resemblance
To grandad was quite scary

‘To grandad’, let us raise a glass
And toast this special man
I never once saw you perform
But I’ll always be your fan

3 Responses to “Grandad was a drag queen”

  1. whowanderarelost April 28, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Was your grandad really a drag queen?

    • supazuba April 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

      I’m going to let the fact that I haven’t shared this with any of my family speak for itself. Having said that, I very rarely share my posts with family/friends anyway!

  2. whowanderarelost April 29, 2014 at 4:48 am #

    I think it’s wonderful, you must have been very special to him

Leave a Reply

