You are my egg

1 Apr

Day 1 of Napowrimo – poem based on my random quote from the prompted Bibliomancy Oracle website (from ‘Why the City is a Dog’ by Liz Countryman

You are my egg
Here in my nest
Under my wing
Safe from harm

How can I watch?
While you crawl out your cradle
Let you be alive, let you tremble
Let you be unstable

How can I sit
While you learn to crawl
Let you taste the world, let you stumble
Let you trip and fall

How can I
After all I’ve been through
How can I let it happen to you

You are my egg
Here in my nest
Under my wing
Safe from harm

Leave a Reply

