In-laws

20 Apr

For day 20 of napowrimo, the prompt for which was to speak with the voice of another member of the family. I enjoyed this one.

I never knew hatred
I never knew war
Until I acquired
Sons and daughters-in-law
Those layabouts and harridans
I can’t but abhor
The way that they look at me
As if I were no more
Than a piece of excrement
That lay on the floor
That someone had stepped in
And then walked through their door
They resent my being
Every visit’s a chore
They’ll only be happy
When I am no more

Leave a Reply

