Goodbye

30 Apr

Goodbye coffee
I knew you well
You tickled olfactory
With golden roast smell
But now I must leave you
My doctor insists
Ever since he sampled
My orange-brown piss

Goodbye cake
You filled my heart
Literally and figuratively
So now we must part
It will not be easy
But my surgeon said so
When he cut through my sternum
To find carnage below

Goodbye wine
You dulled all my pain
And stopped those voices
That were inside my brain
My probation officer
Told me I must not fail
Or the judge will just throw me
Straight back in jail

Goodbye life
It’s been a blast
I’ve lived hard and hearty
And so very fast
I’ll think of you fondly
But now I must leave
Because this bony fellow
Won’t give a reprieve.

Leave a Reply

