Shopping List – day 17 of napowrimo 2015

18 Apr

This is the closest I’m going to get to meeting the day 17 prompt – a “social media”-style poem. I guess you could say this was my amazon wish-list!

Been keeping a shopping list in my head
Thought I’d write a rhyme instead
Things will remain on this list a while
‘Til my pay comes in a bigger pile

For work: much nicer shirts and pants
For a more professional appearance
Shoes that don’t possess a hole
An overcoat that befits my role

Home: in every room a new door
In the bathroom, a less rotten floor
A new mattress for me and her nibs
With springs that don’t poke into my ribs

And a holiday! That would be nice
To the lands of sun or the nordic ice
Where the kids could do activities
And for a while, there might be peace.

Leave a Reply

