Listening Face

18 Jan

I’m trying to keep my listening face
From showing how I feel
Emotions under the skin-covered space
Churn and whirl and reel

I wonder if I simply told the truth
Would you even hear?
Would my words strike you as uncouth?
Would you recoil in fear?

And as I stand here, still listening
Thoughts run through my head
The spittle on your lips is glistening
And I’m afraid I’ve lost the thread

 

9 Responses to “Listening Face”

  1. paula graham January 18, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

    Yea..touches a chord with me, very good and so well observed.

  2. Br Andrew Efo January 24, 2016 at 9:58 am #

    makes me smile at how often I have done same

    • BRH January 26, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks Brother Andrew! Thanks for the pingback too!

      • Sr Jessica Efo January 27, 2016 at 9:19 am #

        I like to share what I like because i always think i have very good taste – now how did that come out hmn

      • Br Andrew Efo January 27, 2016 at 9:22 am #

        If I like something I think others will too”I’ll try again – I am logged into the email address I use to create my wife’s blog from a desktop application and it gets furious when I try to be me so the post by the Lady is my Wife”

  3. tomorrowdefinitely February 2, 2016 at 11:00 am #

    very good !

    • BRH February 3, 2016 at 8:36 am #

      Thank you!

  4. (b)ananartista SBUFF February 17, 2016 at 9:53 am #

    great poetry, I follow

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 18th Jan. Listening Face | Silly Little Rhymes – Br Andrew's Muses - January 24, 2016

    […] Source: Listening Face | Silly Little Rhymes […]

Leave a Reply

