Iris

8 Apr

For day 8 of napowrimo – versify a flower

I live alone
With Iris
In my one-room home
It’s bliss

Her flesh is soft
And shiny
Face aloft
She beckons me

She draws the flies
I don’t mind
It’s no surprise
For her kind

I know she’ll rot
Before long
That is why I wrote
This song

A testament
To her worth
Before I lay her
In the earth.

3 Responses to “Iris”

  1. Karina Pinella April 9, 2016 at 12:05 am #

    Well done (in more ways than one). Has the same theme as my Ripe Romance:
    https://karinapinella.com/2016/02/03/ripe-romance/

    • BRH April 9, 2016 at 6:13 am #

      Haha poor Frank!

  2. paula graham April 9, 2016 at 8:34 am #

    Brilliant…brilliant…I love it..such alter meaning too!

Leave a Reply

