Yarrrcisistic Sea Shanty

19 Apr

For day 17 of napowrimo – any excuse for a sea shanty!

I’m a yarrrcissistic pirate – yes I am. Yes you are!
I’m a damn good-looking buccaneering man. You really are!
And I always do me best
To be impeccabelly dressed
I’m the dooziest of salts, aren’t I men? Yes, by far!

I spend hours at the mirror, yes I do. Looking at you!
Me reflection shivers me timbers, yes it’s true. It’s so true!
Before I splice the mainbrace
I titivate me face
And I brush me lovely hair through and through. Swit swoo!

Oh it’s tough to be a pirate out at sea. Seriously?
Yes, the wind and rain and salt’s not good for me. Okay…
The barnacles are rough
And I think I’ve had enough
I’m gonna swap this bilge for beauty therapy! Blimey!

13 Responses to “Yarrrcisistic Sea Shanty”

  1. Karina Pinella April 20, 2016 at 3:09 am #

    Blimey. What a great poem. It reads like a song. In fact, I actually kind of sang it when I read it. So breezey, lovely, and gay! As in the original definition, ahem.

    • BRH April 20, 2016 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks KP! Your rap had the same effect on me!

  2. paula graham April 20, 2016 at 9:49 am #

    Well, brilliant in every way , I was breathless after reading it..recovered..and now I am waiting for the outcome and result of the therapy…Blimey

    • BRH April 20, 2016 at 12:19 pm #

      That’s so kind of you Paula – thank you! Blimey!

  3. Crow April 20, 2016 at 9:34 pm #

    Blimey! This would be perfect for you to sing for open mic. Yarr!

    • BRH April 20, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      I was thinking about that as I wrote it. As in, I was thinking “there’s no way I’m doing this one for the open mic!”. Not without a substantial amount of rum!

      • Crow April 20, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

        Blimey! If I could play the concertina I would pay for your drinks. Blimey!

      • BRH April 20, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

        I think I might have to re-name my blog. That word is infectious!

      • Crow April 20, 2016 at 9:40 pm #

        I was going to write a reply of nothing but blimeys (blimeys?), but I was laughing too hard.

      • BRH April 20, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

        I can’t get it out of my head now!!! It’s like I’m possessed! BLIMEY!

      • Crow April 20, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

        CAW the exorcist! Blimey!

      • BRH April 20, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

        I’m supposed to be going to sleep but I can’t stop laughing now. I’ve renamed my blog – thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m more a ghost than you’ll ever be | Blimey Rhymies - April 27, 2016

    […] already done a callback poem, so for napowrimo day 26 I’m doing the […]

Leave a Reply

