Stheno’s Lament

23 Apr

For day 21 of napowrimo

With my hands of brass and hair of snakes
Is it unreasonable to ask for my share of fame?
I’ve killed more men than both my sisters
Yet few folk know my name.
I’ve got boar’s tusks for heaven’s sakes
What more from your villains do you people want?
I’ve petrified plenty of Greek misters
Yet still it’s Medusa you vaunt
Well she’s dead now, the mortal’s curse
While I will live on evermore
With my ugly sister and the snake round my waist
You better not come to my door!

8 Responses to “Stheno’s Lament”

  1. Crow April 23, 2016 at 11:48 pm #

    It’s always “Medusa #2” or “Older Sister” and never Stheno.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      Yes – probably because it leads to inevitable questions of pronunciation.

  2. paula graham April 24, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    Well, yes, what can I say…life is not fair, not here ,nor there.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Too true!

  3. Karina Pinella April 24, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

    The Forgotten One; she must be the homely one.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      She’s no Cinderella, by all accounts!

  4. Poet Rummager April 24, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

    Eat your heart out, Medusa! Superb.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks Rose!

Leave a Reply

