Earth

24 Apr

For day 22 of napowrimo – Earth Day

Earth
Under my feet
As I step close
To your resting place

Earth
Dug from the ground
Piles of brown dirt
That you will replace

Earth
Thuds onto you
Covers the smile
On your sweet face

Earth
I pat the earth down
My whisper ‘goodbye’
There’s no other trace

9 Responses to “Earth”

  1. Karina Pinella April 24, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

    Peace to Earth.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      Amen!

  2. Poet Rummager April 24, 2016 at 9:39 pm #

    I loooooooove this, B!

    At the end, cover me in dirt.
    Don’t cry.
    I’ll give back to the earth
    and feed the flies.

    • BRH April 24, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

      Oooooh! Deep – on a number of levels! Nice one!

      • Poet Rummager April 24, 2016 at 11:11 pm #

        For you, darling 🙂

      • BRH April 25, 2016 at 7:25 am #

        Thank you!

      • Poet Rummager April 24, 2016 at 11:12 pm #

        I need to email you, B. You gave me your email addy once before. Would you give it to me again please?

      • BRH April 25, 2016 at 7:28 am #

        Sent email to you with the necessary.

  3. paula graham April 25, 2016 at 8:51 am #

    Deep and Dark Poem…yes, to the earth we will all return.

Leave a Reply

