The Damp Fox

27 Apr

For day 27 of napowrimo – a long-lined poem.

I’ve not tried one of these before so this is very experimental!

The damp fox looks at me dejectedly as I ‘hello’ while jogging by
He’s supposed to be timid but he looks like he’s past caring
Or maybe in my shorts and vest he knows I’m not a threat
Either way he sits there like a fisherman on a fish-less lake
Knowing at his time of life there’s not much else he can do
He’s a fox – it’s not like he can get a job in the factories
Those anthropomorphic stories have a lot to answer for
I hope the next time I’m round here I don’t see him again
He makes me feel awkward like he looks right at my soul
As if maybe he’s sad because of all the bad things I’ve done
And not because the houses here don’t keep chickens

9 Responses to “The Damp Fox”

  1. Crow April 27, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    How I love this. We have a dog and a cat. The dog accepts us but the cat judges us.

    • BRH April 28, 2016 at 11:46 am #

      Thanks Crow! I wish I’d written that into the piece!

  2. Karina Pinella April 28, 2016 at 3:27 am #

    Perhaps you can have the damp fox watch Fantastic Mr. Fox so it can be more inspired. Nice prose.

    • BRH April 28, 2016 at 11:45 am #

      To me he is THE Fantastic Mr Fox. I feel connected to him in a weird way. *Sigh*

  3. paula graham April 28, 2016 at 8:49 am #

    Pigs treat us as equals, , not sure that this statement is anything to do with a fox looking into your soul, animals do have an uncanny way of making you feel guilty of mistreating them . As so often, your poem makes me think!

    • BRH April 28, 2016 at 11:40 am #

      Ha ha – thanks Paula! Great fact about pigs! Shame about how we treat them!

      • paula graham April 28, 2016 at 4:02 pm #

        Indeed and I am not joking, they live a hell on earth.

  4. SlasherMonster April 30, 2016 at 7:24 am #

    foxes know stuff. tell us of the bad stuff you do…

    • BRH April 30, 2016 at 11:22 am #

      They do, you’ll have to ask the fox!

Leave a Reply

