Mommy can we go to the graveyard?

4 May

Mommy won’t you take me to the graveyard?
Mommy can we go there soon?
I want to read the stones
Of the people who have gone
I want to find out how they wound up in their tomb

Mommy won’t you take me to the graveyard?
Mommy can we go today?
I want to smell the flowers
Watch the sad people for hours
I want to see all of their tributes on display

Mommy won’t you take me to the graveyard?
Mommy can we go tonight?
I want to see the ghosts
Of the semi-decomposed
I want to give myself a devil of a fright!

Darling don’t hurry to the graveyard
Darling you will be there soon enough
It’s not the kind of place
To which you really want to race
You should spend more time on living-people stuff.

9 Responses to “Mommy can we go to the graveyard?”

  1. Karina Pinella May 5, 2016 at 1:23 am #

    Mommy, Daddy’s been sleeping for four years straight now. Shouldn’t we take him to the graveyard?

    • BRH May 5, 2016 at 11:04 am #

      This made me laugh out loud over breakfast!

      • Karina Pinella May 5, 2016 at 11:07 am #

        Glad to be of assistance!

      • BRH May 5, 2016 at 11:16 am #

        Your comment was better than my poem/song.

      • Karina Pinella May 5, 2016 at 11:44 am #

        Nah, your poem/song is much better. Perhaps you can sing that via open mic!

  2. Crow May 5, 2016 at 4:07 am #

    Living-people stuff is boring!

    • BRH May 5, 2016 at 11:05 am #

      It really is!

  3. Poet Rummager May 5, 2016 at 8:49 am #

    I want to see the ghost of the semi-decomposed — Lol. Me, too, mommy.

    • BRH May 5, 2016 at 11:06 am #

      Yeah – I have to admit that this is the only couplet in this that I like. In my head it’s a country song and I couldn’t get it out until I set it down.

Leave a Reply

