Day 7 Of Napowrimo – More Luck Than Sense

7 Apr

‘Good luck’, they said as I left home for war
With the other young conscripts, some rich, some poor
I asked ‘What of strategy? What of our might?’
They said ‘Even winners can die in a fight’.

‘Good luck’, they said as I went for a job
To make myself someone, and earn a few bob
I said ‘Won’t my skills and my talent swing it?’
They replied ‘Skills mean nothing if your face doesn’t fit’.

‘Good luck’, they wished us as my spouse and I wed
And their words ricocheted round inside my head
‘What of hard work and true love?’, I thought
Without luck it seemed that all was for naught.

‘Good luck’, they said as I went to the docs
It wasn’t my day and I left in a box
So this poem is inscribed on my headstone, you see
To wish for you all serendipity.

4 Responses to “Day 7 Of Napowrimo – More Luck Than Sense”

  1. crow April 8, 2017 at 3:08 am #

    You crack me up. That last stanza could stand by itself.

  2. the dandelion contessa April 9, 2017 at 6:11 pm #

    Great ending – what a wonderful twist – and certainly would make for interesting reading on a headstone!

    • BRH April 9, 2017 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks DC!

  3. Karina Pinella April 10, 2017 at 1:29 pm #

    Alas, more like for serenity

Leave a Reply

